National Association of Hearing Officials

Login For Members-Only Content

  • Home

Welcome to NAHO

The National Association of Hearing Officials, Inc., is a professional nonprofit organization formed in 1987 comprised of individuals involved in the process of administrative adjudication. The twelve-member Board of Directors is elected by NAHO's membership and represents all sections of the country and a variety of administrative jurisdictions.

The mission of the National Association of Hearing Officials is to improve the fairness and effectiveness of the administrative hearing process, thus benefiting hearing officials, their employing agencies, and the individuals those agencies serve by:                                                 ~promoting professionalism;                 ~offering instruction on sound administrative adjudication practices and procedures;   ~providing year-round continuing legal and adjudicative education;                                         ~affording a national forum for discussion of important issues; and                                         ~furnishing leadership concerning the administrative hearing process.

NAHO does not and shall not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, political affiliation, gender, gender expression, age, national origin/ethnicity, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, or military status in any of its activities or operations. NAHO's membership reflects racial, ethnic, and gender diversity.

2021 NAHO MEMBERSHIP BENEFITS

Professional Development Conferences: 

NAHO's Mid-Year Web Conference will be held online on April 21-22, 2021, offering more than six hours of continuing education classes over two days.

NAHO's Annual Professional Development Conference will be held in person, October 31 through November 3, in Philadelphia. It will offer an array of instruction on current issues of interest to administrative adjudicators.

Certification: NAHO is the only national organization of administrative hearing officials which has a certification program for Administrative Law Judges and Hearing Officers. Upon successful completion of the educational and professional requirements and approval by the NAHO Board, a three-year certification is granted which can be renewed simply by keeping current on training in administrative adjudication.

Webinars:  In September of 2020, NAHO began holding monthly live Zoom Webinars which have been free of charge to all NAHO members.  These Webinars will continue even after the pandemic ends. 

On-Demand Instruction: NAHO maintains a library of videos recorded from Professional Development Conferences and Webinars, which can be accessed online for a small fee. Viewing NAHO videos may also qualify for education credits toward NAHO certification and for self-study CLE credits in some states.

Customized Group Training: An agency may request customized training for their member-adjudicators in a particular area of administrative law or on specialized subjects. Presently, these are scheduled as webinars, with on-site training to resume in the future.

The NAHO News: NAHO's periodic newsletter keeps members informed about NAHO's activities and upcoming events. Members are encouraged to contribute articles of interest to administrative adjudicators.

Social Media Presence: Members can connect with NAHO by following NAHO on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn. 

NAHO Merchandise: Merchandise with the NAHO logo has long been available to members attending its in-person conferences. It will soon be available via the NAHO website. NAHO-logoed items include t-shirts, caps, padfolios, lapel pins, and face masks. Personalized, monogrammed NAHO items are available by special order.

Networking: NAHO is in the process of updating its website with new features to connect members.  Members will be able to access the email address of other members who conduct the same or similar types of hearings. There will also be a members-only blog on which members can share their comments on current events of interest to administrative adjudicators.

NAHO Members: Please make sure we have your current email address on file! You can update your email address anytime by logging into the NAHO website and updating your profile.  If you have forgotten your password, you may reset it here: 

PASSWORD RESET

NAHO Annual Conference

       Spring 2021 Online            Professional Development              Conference          

 April 21 - 22, 2021 via Zoom

  Classes  will take place on these 2 days from:       12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Eastern                             11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Central                             10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Mountain                          9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Pacific                                  8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Alaska                              7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Hawaii

Topics will include:                                        Bench Skills for Hearing Officers                          Virtual Supervising                                                  Advocating for Hearing Officials                            Ruling on Objections                                                Implicit Bias                                                              Due Process in School Discipline Hearings

Watch this page and your inbox for registration information.


    NAHO ANNUAL PROFESSIONAL        DEVELOPMENT CONFERENCE        OCTOBER 31 - NOVEMBER 3, 2021

PHILADELPHIA

Join NAHO this fall in Philadelphia for resumption of its Annual Professional Development Conference, just in time to see peak fall colors and enjoy a daily temperature in the 60s. The host hotel for the conference is the newly-opened Element Hotel, in the heart of the arts and retail district and directly across from the city's beautiful, historic City Hall. The hotel is only a few blocks from Independence Hall, where the Declaration of Independence and Constitution were debated and adopted. Nearby is Franklin Court, a complex of museums, structures and historic sites at the place where Benjamin Franklin had his Philadelphia residence.

NAHO will again offer three different classes for each hour of the conference; thus, attendees may choose from over 40 different topics, acquiring up to 18 hours of MCLE credits. 

NAHO conferences provide educational sessions on administrative law, ethics, interrupting and reducing implicit bias, best practices for presiding over hearings, decision writing, evidence, and many more valuable topics.

NAHO's quality faculty includes law professors recognized as experts in administrative law, appellate judges, attorneys, and experienced administrative adjudicators. 

Come network with your fellow administrative adjudicators this fall in beautiful, historic Philadelphia at the 2021 National Association of Hearing Officials Professional Development Conference, October 31 through November 3.


Benefitting Hearing Officials and the Individuals they Serve...

Upcoming Online Presentations

Hearsay at Hearings

  Thursday, March 25 (90 minutes)   

 1 p.m. Eastern       12 p.m. Central   11 am. Mountain  10 a.m. Pacific    9 a.m. Alaska         8 a.m. Hawaii

Free of charge to NAHO members

        $30 fee for non-members

Your jurisdiction may generally allow admission of hearsay in administrative hearings or admission may be subject to rigorous standards. Whatever the rules applicable to your hearings, questions about hearsay evidence are going to be raised, at least occasionally. This class is an opportunity for hearing officials to deepen their understanding of what hearsay is, what it is not, and when it matters. Attendees are also invited to explore the relationship of hearsay to evidence concepts such as relevancy and materiality.

Topics covered in this class include but are not limited to:

  • How hearsay is generally regarded versus how hearsay is defined;
  • Rules regarding hearsay admissibility;
  • Determining the reliability of hearsay; and
  • Exceptions that allow admission of hearsay even when the rules of evidence apply.

Instructor: Judge Peter Halbach   

Judge Halbach has a BA in Political Science from the University of Minnesota and a JD from the William Mitchell College of Law.

Judge Halbach worked for the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office for five years, before entering private practice in North Dakota in 1988. His commitment to public service continued while in private practice, as a part-time assistant state’s attorney and an adjunct instructor at Lake Regional State College in the legal assistant and peace officer training programs.

He became the Municipal Judge for Devils Lake North Dakota in 2002 and a Hearing Officer for the North Dakota Department of Transportation in 2003.  He was designated the Chief Hearing Officer for the Department of Transportation in 2015.

Judge Halbach joined NAHO in 2006 and became a NAHO Certified Hearing Official (CHO) in 2011. He also served on the NAHO Board for four years as the Mountain Region Representative after filling a vacancy in the position for two years while the alternative representative.

He is currently serving as Vice President of NAHO.

MEMBERS:  Register Here

**Updated Link**

NON MEMBERS: Email here for an invoice to pay online to register

        

© National Association of Hearing Officials
PO Box 492286
Lawrenceville, GA 30049

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software